2012-11-21 15.44.12 smaller
Minority leader Rep. Aaron Ling Johanson and Speaker-Elect Joe Souki

When voting, think about the coalitions

Ikaika M Hussey
All politics is local, indeed. But the kuleana of the state legislature is big, statewide issues – education, the environment, tax policy, the state budget. And much of those decisions are made in closed caucus meetings and by House and Senate leaderships which are elected by their fellow legislators.

Since 2012, for example, the state has seen some big shifts in policy because of a new House leadership coalition that brought together young Democrats along with Speaker Emeritus Joseph Souki. If you like the changes those “upstarts” are making, you’d want keep members of their coalition in office. If you prefer the leadership of others – former Speaker Calvin Say, or other potential leaders such as Marcus Oshiro – you’d want to upset the governing coalition.

Here’s our best estimation of the current makeup of the factions.

Speaker Joseph Souki's Coalition:

Democrats (21): Joe Souki, Sylvia Luke, Chris Lee, Scott Saiki, Gil Keith-Agaran, Mark Nakashima, Scott Nishimoto, Mark Takai, Dee Morikawa, Roy Takumi, Jessica Wooley, Cindy Evans, Tom Brower, Faye Hanohano, Della Au Belatti, Angus McKelvey, Romy Cachola, Nicole Lowen, Bert Kobayashi, Richard Onishi, Kaniela Ing, Takashi Ohno.

Republicans (7): Gene Ward, Cynthia Thielen, Bob McDermott, Aaron Ling Johanson, Beth Fukumoto, Lauren Cheape, Richard Fale.

Former Speaker Calvin Say's Coalition:

Democrats (21): Calvin Say, Henry Aquino, Karen Awana, Rida Cabanilla, Isaac Choy, Ty Cullen, Sharon Har, Mark Hashem, Derek Kawakami, Linda Ichiyama, Ken Ito, Jo Jordan, John Mizuno, Marcus Oshiro, Karl Rhoads, Jimmy Tokioka, Clift Tsuji, Ryan Yamane, Kyle Yamashita, Gregg Takayama.

Research by Manjari Fergusson

Updated to indicate that Takashi Ohno is not allied with Say's faction, and that Jessica Wooley and Gil Keith-Agaran are no longer in the House.