Waikiki Neighborhood Board opposes Homeless Bill of Rights

Hawaii Independent Staff

At the February 10, 2015 Waikiki Neighborhood Board meeting, the board members present voted unanimously (14-0-0) to oppose House Bill 1322 (relating to a homeless person’s bill of rights). The bill has since crossed over to the Senate side.

Board Members Present: Jo-Ann Adams, Jeff Apaka, Helen Carroll, John Dew, Louis Erteschik, Robert Finley, Walt Flood, Janet Grace, William ‘Bill’ Lofquist, Jeff Merz, John Nigro, Mary Simpson, Mark Smith and Larry Williams.

Board Members Absent: John Moore, Kuuipo Kumukahi, and Jim Poole

Adams moved and Flood seconded the motion to oppose House Bill 1322. Discussion followed: Bill of Rights: Erteschik stated that it was an unnecessary bill as it “conflicts” with civil rights.