The Hawai’i Environmental Coalition Endorses Ben Cayetano for Mayor of Honolulu

Hawaii Independent Staff

Media release

Ben Cayetano has clearly understood that the Honolulu Rail project and the subdividing of Oahu’s best farmland would destroy a large part of O’ahu as we know it. He stepped forward as plaintiff in the Federal NEPA/FTA lawsuit against the Rail. He testified against the urban designation of the Ewa farmlands. He spoke up against the visual, agricultural, fiscal and cultural harm of the Rail. Not finding someone else to run for mayor, he left a comfortable retirement to take up the public’s fight of 2012.

Mr. Cayetano aspires to no other office. He will stop Rail, reorganize transit, incrementally replace the sewer and water systems and repave the roads. He opposes building new hotels except to replace tear-downs. He supports freeing Kalama and Kailua Beach Parks from commercialization.

He was good for the environment as governor, ensuring that the threatened Sandy Beach/Ka Iwi Coastline of O’ahu remain open. He helped preserve Kealakekua Bay on Hawaii Island; and Lumahai Beach and Maha’ulepu on Kauai. He banned commercial activity from the Hanalei River and supported creation of the Humpback Whale Sanctuary around the Hawaiians Islands.
Unable to counter Mr. Cayetano’s reasoning on Rail, the development interests through the anonymity of the Pacific Resources Partnership has viciously attacked his character. PRP knows what we know: Mr. Cayetano will do what he says, as when his investigation of Bishop Estate led to far- reaching reforms of Bishop Estate and the Hawai’i Supreme Court. It is no coincidence that two of the “Broken Trust” authors, Professor Randall Roth and Walter M. Heen, are his co-plaintiffs in the Federal lawsuit.

Millions of dollars are being spent to stop him, and to ram through the sprawling development of Honolulu and Leeward O’ahu. This is big history. What other candidate could say: “... a select few have been running things for a long time. They have their fingers in nearly everything that affects our lives and our children’s future. They influence or intimidate politicians to do their bidding and they try to crush those who don’t go along. They have taken over the political power which rightfully belongs to you, the people.”

Stand up for the future of O’ahu. Take back our government. Vote Ben Cayetano for Mayor.


Adam Bensley
Adrienne King
Alan Burdick
Agnes Malate
Aleli Starosta
Alexandria Avery
Alma McGoldrick
Amy Agbayani
Amy Kelly
Amy Kimura

Ann Shaver

Antya Miller
Art Mori
Arvid Tadao Youngquist
Barbara J. (Hoppy) Smith
Barbara J. Avery
Barbara Hudman
Barbara Krasniewski
Ben Ramelb
Ben Shafer
Benedict J. Tria Kerkvliet
Beth Anderson
Bob Crone
Bobby Esteven
Bobby Jennings
Bobbie Slater
Carl Christensen
Carol Holmes
Carol Yoshinaga
Carolyn Blackburn
Carolyn Goodin
Caryl Campbell
Cathleen Piilani Mattoon
Charleen Cuaresma
Charles H. Carole
Charlotte Goers-Nevin
Chaunnel “Pake” Salmon

Choon James
Chris Clothier
Chris Yano
Christine Gasper
Cinde Fisher

Cinnie Frith
Cliff Slater
Creighton Ualani Mattoon
Dana Anderson

Danielle Guion-Swenson
Dave Goodin
Dave Lerps
Dennis Callan
Diane Komenaka
Donald Chang

Donna Wong
Doris Ching
Dorothy Morris
Doris Dudley
Dr. Jeremy Lam
Dr. Kioni Dudley
Dr. Michael James
Dr. Michael Uechi
Dr. Stann W. Reiziss
Dustine Aiu
Eduardo Imperial
Edward Hayden
Elizabeth Rahr
Eric Poohina
Erin Goodin Aiu
Ernest Heen Jr.
Eve G. Anderson
Evelyn Souza
Frances Chang
Francine Hagstrom
Frank Atienza

Franklin Souza

George Fox
George Mead
Georgio Caldarone

Georgie Yap
Gerald Chang
Gerri Pedesky
Gordon Au
Gordon Damon
Gus Gustafson
Heather Huel
Heeny S.H. Yuen

Helen Kong
Howard Matsuda
Jack Pedesky
James B. Walfish
James Miltier
James “Sandy” Putt
James Roumasset
James Schlosser
Janet Gillmar
Jason Arnold
Jean S. Reiziss
Jeannette Paulson Hereniko
Jill Miyamura
Jim Day
Jim Quimby
Joe Correa
Joe Uno
John Bond
John Brizdle
John F. DeVirgilio
John Foti
John Shimizu
Judy Moody
Kaleo Paik
Kanani Wong
Karen Krasniewski
Katherine Kupukaa
Katherine Orr
Kay Lynch
Keaka Wong
Keith Krasniewski
Ken Adams
Kenneth Joyner
Kenneth S. Robbins
Kent Fonoimoana

Larry McElheny
Leah Retherford
Lee Miltier
Leinaala Davis
Lenora Springer
Leslie Moore
Leonard Aiu
Lina Agbayani
Linda A. Yuen
Linda Paul

Lisa Altieri
Lisa Cates
Liza Simon
Loida LeGrande
Lois U.H. Lee
Lon Renard
Lucinda Coffey

Lyla Berg
Lynn Marie Sager
Lynne Matusow
Maggie Walker
Maile Goo
Marcus Masuda
Maria Tumpap
Marilyn Carter
Marion Hayden
Marion Heen Shim
Marion Kaneshiro

Mark Blackburn

Mark Torreano
Marsha Joyner
Martha Schaller
Mary J. Culvyhouse
Mary Lerps
Mary Mansfield
Mary Philpotts
Mary Steiner
Melanie Yang
Melinda Tria Kervliet
Michael Jade Suan
Michael Kumukauoha Lee
Mike Rossell
Mollie Foti
Muriel B. Seto
Nancy Nagamine
Noelani Burns
Nella Caldarone
Pat Meyers
Patti Lyons
Patrick Wassel

Paul Toyozaki
Pauline MacNeil
Paul “Doc” Berry
Pearl Chang Johnson
Penelope Berniski
Phil Morris
Philip Foti

Philip Estermann

Phyllis Fong 

Piilani Kaopuiki

Pilipo Souza

Poka Laenui
Ramona Hussey
Randall Roth
Ray Graham
Richard Brown
Richard Burniske
Richard E. Culvyhouse
Rike Weiss
Robert F. Kay
Robert Retherford
Ryan Kalama
Sam Slom
Samuel P. King, Jr.

Scott Foster
Sean Fernandez
Shaunagh G. Robbins
Sheila Fernandez
Sheila Valdez
Shirley Renard
Selene Mersereau

Steve Brown 
Steve Gilbert
Steve Scott
Susan Cummings
Susie Roth 
Suzan Quimby 
Suzanne Gilbert 
Thad Spreg  
Thalia Demott
The Rev. Dr. Malcolm Naea Chun                                        

Tom Coffey
Tom Coffman

Tom Welch
Tony Wong Jr.
Ursula Retherford
Val Mori
Victoria Cannon
Victoria Meyers
Violet Alcon
Wendy Gorman
Wilbert Ching
William Sager
Wynnie Hee

Zuri Aki