Four local legends to be inducted into 2011 Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame

Hawaii Independent Staff

HONOLULU—Hawaii’s proud tradition of water sports is being celebrated with the induction of four remarkable kamaaina into the Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort on Sunday, August 21.

The 2011 inductees are:

Peter Cole –- Renowned big-wave surfer of Makaha and Oahu’s North Shore.

Ethel Kukea –- Pioneer and champion of Hawai‘i women’s surfing in the 1950s.

Aileen Soule –- Olympic medalist in swimming and diving in 1920 and 1924.

Nainoa Thompson—Famed navigator using ancient Polynesian way-finding techniques.

The Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame was initiated last year to create a lasting tribute to
the Hawaiian Islands’ water sports legacy and honor the achievements of Hawaii’s standout
watermen and waterwomen. The criteria used to select inductees are:

* Keiki o ka aina / keiki o ke kai
* Sustained outstanding contribution to the sport
* International, national and local accomplishment and recognition

This year’s four inductees will join the inaugural class of nine honorees from 2010:

Eddie Aikau, Wally Froiseth, Fred Hemmings, Duke Kahanamoku, Buffalo Keaulana,
Rabbit Kekai, Keo Nakama, Nappy Napoleon, and Rell Sunn.

The 2011 inductees are the focus of the Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame Awards Dinner on August 21, presented by the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort and Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation (ODKF). Net proceeds raised will benefit ODKF’s college scholarships and athletic grants programs for Hawai‘i residents and nonprofit organizations.

“We congratulate the inductees and their families and are grateful for the support being given to Hawaii’s future watermen and waterwomen,” said Patrick Shea, ODKF President.

Tickets to the Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame Awards Dinner are $85 each ($95 after August 17), with table sponsorships available for $5,000, $3,000, and $1,500. The event begins at 5:00 p.m. and takes place on Hilton’s Great Lawn fronting Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon, and will feature performances by Maunalua and Brothers Cazimero. The Danny Kaleikini is master of ceremonies.

On July 11, ODKF announced the awarding of $150,000 in college scholarships and grants to 68 Hawai‘i athletes and nonprofit organizations. ODKF has awarded college scholarships and athletic grants of more than $1.6 million to 1,217 Hawaii individuals and nonprofit organizations in water sports and volleyball since its formation in 1986.

ODKF is a public, nonprofit foundation whose mission is to financially support the development of individuals and organizations that perpetuate the spirit and legacy of Duke Kahanamoku.

For more information and tickets, visit