Billabong Pipe Masters called off again over the weekend

Jade Eckardt

HALEIWA—The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons has been called off for the fourth day in a row on Sunday since the first day of competition took place on Wednesday, December 8. The third and final contest of the Vans Triple Crown, an Association of Surfing Professional (ASP) Specialty Series, began its holding period on Wednesday, and will continue until December 20, during which a total of three days of competition will be held.

“The flat spell here at Pipeline has continued, so unfortunately we’ll have to call the contest off again today,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “It’s looking like we have a better angled swell on the way for Wednesday, but we’ll still return tomorrow morning to evaluate the conditions.”

Contest organizers will asses the conditions at 7:00 a.m. Monday morning when they will decide if the contest will resume at 8:00 a.m.

Rounds one and two were completed last Wednesday with crowds of surfers, fans, tourists, and industry professionals lining the beach from Ehukai Beach Park to Log Cabins. Contestants surfed with the ASP’s new dual heat format overlapping the man-to-man matches, which allows for surfers to surf longer.

The opening heat of the next day of competition begins with Australian and Pipe Master’s champion Taj Burrow against Australian Matt Wilkinson.

A celebration and paddle out for professional surfer Andy Irons who passed away last month on November 2 was planned for Saturday, December 11 at Pipeline, but was cancelled due to expected strong wind and rainy weather conditions. Irons, who was from Kauai, was a three-time ASP World Champion and won the Pipe Masters four times. The tribute was set to include a paddle out by competitors in the Billabong Pipe Masters. The paddle-out will not be rescheduled.

According to, expected conditions for Monday and Tuesday are fair to good with waves in the three to five foot range, or waist to shoulder high.

Billabong Pipe Masters round 1 results:
Heat 1: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.50 def. Kamalei Alexander (HAW) 11.66
Heat 2: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 6.50 def. Clay Marzo (HAW) 4.23
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW) 14.50 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 12.20
Heat 4: Dusty Payne (HAW) 15.10 def. Kiron Jabour (HAW) 9.30
Heat 5: Ian Walsh (HAW) 13.24 def. Luke Stedman (AUS) 7.50
Heat 6: Danny Fuller (HAW) 8.57 def. Roy Powers (HAW) 7.36
Heat 7: Dave Wassell (HAW) 12.17 def. Travis Logie (ZAF) 3.63
Heat 8: Luke Munro (AUS) 13.50 def. Shane Dorian (HAW) 13.33
Heat 9: Gabe Kling (USA) 11.10 def. Kalani Chapman (HAW) 5.40
Heat 10: Rob Machado (USA) 11.37 def. Granger Larsen (HAW) 9.66
Heat 11: Heitor Alves (BRA) 8.46 def. Joel Centeio (HAW) 8.14
Heat 12: Tom Whitaker (AUS) 13.83 def. Bruce Irons (HAW) 3.33

Billabong Pipe Masters round 2 results:
Heat 1: John John Florence (HAW) 10.00 def. Dean Morrison (AUS) 3.03
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 11.70 def. Ian Walsh (HAW) 9.83
Heat 3: Jadson Andre (BRA) 11.00 def. Danny Fuller (HAW) 3.76
Heat 4: Dave Wassell (HAW) 9.33 def. Bobby Martinez (USA) 5.40
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) 12.67 def. Rob Machado (USA) 10.57
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.83 def. Heitor Alves (BRA) 5.84
Heat 7: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 13.40 def. Gabe Kling (USA) 8.53
Heat 8: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 10.27 def. Luke Munro (AUS) 4.87
Heat 9: Dusty Payne (HAW) 11.94 def. Tiago Pires (PRT) 8.83
Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 12.16 def. Tom Whitaker (AUS) 2.70
Heat 11: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 9.47 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 2.90
Heat 12: Adam Melling (AUS) 11.67 def. Daniel Ross (AUS) 8.94

Billabong Pipe Masters round 3 Match-ups:
Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 4: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. John John Florence (HAW)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 8: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 9: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. David Wassell (HAW)
Heat 10: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)